Social Links Search User Login Menu

Flying 15 News

News about the Class from around the world

Flying Fifteen News

New Zealand Nationals 2023
SuperUser Account 84

New Zealand Nationals 2023

Lake Taupo Yacht Club 11th-12th November

13 Flying 15 from across the North Island converged on Taupoover the weekend of 11th-12th November for the 2023 New Zealand National Championship. The fleet included 6 of the boats that travelled to Fremantle for the World Championship in March, plus sailors from Whangeri, Napier and Wellington. 

The entire of the North Island was covered by a strong high pressure for the three days of the regatta, bringing clear skies, sun, excellent visibility and yes little wind. Ruapehu covered in snow was visible throughout the racing. The sailing was mentally tough with only one race a day completed on Friday and Saturday, then a flurry of 4 races on Sunday. 

Hayden Percy and Scott Pederson sailing their beloved Fflorin won the first three races of the event, showing once again that silver boats are still competitive. They showed good speed in mirror to 5 knots, navigating between the puffs to stay out in front. Behind them the fleet was incredibly tight with 7 boats finishing in just over 30 seconds in the first race. 

On Sunday with winds rising to maybe 6 knots the President found her speed as her crew Neil Easton finally made it to the windward side of the cockpit allowing them to win the 4th race of the event. 

The last race was won by Wayne Avery and Jake Pye, a new combination from Auckland. Jake is better known for his successes in the foiling moth, being NZ and UK  National Champion in the International Moth and also leading the World Champs until it was abandoned due to lack of wind. 

Off the water the fleet enjoyed the camaraderie of the NZ Sport Boat fleet joining them at Two Mile Sailing Club for beer and pizza. The next event on the calendar is the Auckland Champs at Royal Akarana Yacht Club December 9 and 10, where the fleet will race with the Sport Boats, SR26 keelboats and the 18ft Skiffs. 


1st  FFlorin - Hayden Percy and Scott Pederson 

2nd WP3 - Wayne Avery and Jake Pye 

3rd FFrentic - Murray Gilbert and Jon Burgess 


1st  All female crew - FFortune - Jenny Price and Alana Pooley 

1st  Mixed crew - The GodFFather - Sally Garrett and Neil Easton 

1st Skipper over 60 not in the top 3 - Rob Ward 


1st Silver Boat - FFlorin - Hayden Percy and Scott Pederson 

1st Classic Boat - FFidgit - Daren Courtnage and Alan Swinney


Complete results available at 

Sailwave results for Ras Results for Flying 15 and Magic 2023 Regatta at Lake Taupo Yacht Club 2023


Rate article

No rating
Rate this article:
No rating




Collapse Expand Comments (0)
You don't have permission to post comments.

News Search

Back To Top